Derby Grrrl Of The Month

Time sure does fly when you least expect it. It’s yet another month gone by and we are on our 11th derby grrrl of the month! Hands up for those who’ve had a soft spot for the Scottish accent! Well, this Scottish lady is full of creativity and funk. Moved here recently with her hubby dearest, this wonderful soul approached us the moment she got to Singapore. So let us introduce to you lovely folks who she is! Oh, sweet photo Missy! We absolutely love it!

 
Derby Name: RUBY CLAYMORE
Derby Number: 31
 

Tell Us About Yourself:

I’m a scottish girl living in Singapore. I’m a kind hearted soul with a streak of intolerance which sometimes emerges at the wrong times, often making me look like a real stinker of a b hole.

A long time ago when i was at school my passions were Art and sports. These are still things i enjoy the most in life. One of my dream jobs should be designing art work for snowboards. Another would be a tattoo artist.  I don’t like horses. But i do love watching the discovery channel, and sometimes wish i was doctor.

Why that derby name?

i wanted a name that would evoke thoughts of blood and battles. Something that was related to me, not just a name picked out of thin air. So Ruby is my birth stone. Its red (just like blood…) And if you didn’t know, a Claymore is a very large two handed sword used in medieval Scotland. Scots were pretty hard ass in those days.

What Made You Join Roller Derby?

I wanted to get fit and make some new friends at the same time. Derby seemed like the perfect opportunity for me! I’ve always liked sports that are a bit rough and tumble. I had never skated before so it was a bit daunting, but like anything, the more you practice the better you get. I’ve been using the nearby park to my advantage- new smooth pathways prove to be very friendly on my wheels.

What’s Your Other Hobbies/Interest?

i enjoy spending time with my hubby, snowboarding, eating out, seeing friends, drinking nice drinks, traveling, keeping fit, looking after my 2 dogs, drawing, painting, dressing up (not a lot of that goes on in singapore i have realised) making people laugh, walking, discovering i can do something new on photoshop, meeting like minded people,seeing new movies, seeing old movies, I like spiders and i like heights but still haven’t done a sky dive, or been in a hot air balloon. Or held a tarantula.

What Would Be Your Roller Derby Soundtrack?

How Has Roller Derby Benefited You?

It has made me much better at planking.

Worst Thing About Derby?

The humidity that we train in sometimes is unreal. when i take my helmet off i look like i’ve just walked out of the shower. its fairly disgusting. Sorry, its really disgusting.

Any Advice For Girls Interested In Joining?

Just get your gear and do it- do not be intimidated. There will be more than one friendly face waiting for you.

One thought on “Derby Grrrl Of The Month

Leave a Reply

